To my inwardness

I called to you, O God, out of my distress and you answered me. (Song of Jonah)

To my inwardness this language is what landscape is to my outwardness. It’s not me or mine, it’s where I am. I walk it, following the contours it offers. Anything else and I fall off a precipice.

It’s populated – many different people know the different contours, and the ways it offers and refuses at different times of day and in different weathers. Others go before or behind or parallel to me in this landscape, or they go in other directions. Others make their way in other landscapes.

I am basically alone on this walk and it can’t be any other way. No one can be in that place at that moment in which I am there. Furthermore, my being there changes it. I meet people close by for moments, and for short or long stretches. I have to accept they can’t make the journey I make, however much I want them to or feel the need. Instead, I call to you, O God, out of my distress and you answer me.

Leave a Reply

