Good Friday

There is the idea that my sins caused Jesus’ crucifixion. But I genuinely can’t see I’ve done anything so dreadful as to equate with that horror.

I could be blind to the depths of my own wretchedness; or I could be an unbeliever; or both, or something else.

However, I am questioning whether the Church is not gravely mistaken to present the crucifixion as a sin offering.

Formerly, animals could be offered for sins. Blood for blood. We sinned, but animals’ blood sufficed for propitiation.

If this system worked, why would Jesus need to give himself as an offering for our sins? He would thereby only save animals’ lives, not ours.

Yet I have been cruel; Jesus shows me my victim. And unlike the animals slaughtered for propitiation, he rises from the dead.

Leave a Reply

